A poor unsuspecting woman just called me from the Indy Star wanting to know if I would subscribe to their paper. Here is the conversation:

Star: Hello ma’am can I tell you about a great deal we are having now making it extremely affordable to have the Star delivered to you at home?

Me: It depends on, can you answer a couple of questions for me?

Star: sure, go ahead

Me: At what age did you learn to count

Star: (prolonged silence) umm I don’t know, about 4 or 5 I guess, why?

ME: Because I was at the tea party yesterday and apparently your reporter does not have the advanced education of your typical 4 or 5 year old.

Star: What do you mean

Me: They can’t count!!! IMPD who was there, upfront, with a full view of the crowd said we had between 12000 and 15000 people. Your reporter said “Up to 2500” people attended. I was there, I saw for myself, 2500 people might have been there 2 hours before it started, but there was AT LEAST 12000 people there when the rally began. So tell your supervisor to give me a call when they begin to hire reporters with at least a kindergarten education, because if they can’t do something simple like counting, how will they handle to tough stuff.

Star: I will write this on the comments

ME: If I were you, I would talk to your supervisor, there are AT LEAST 11,999 people who feel the same way I do.

Cathy


Bookmark and Share

