Wednesday, I participated in the Indianapolis Tax Day Tea Party. And, I have some personal things to say.
As all of you know, I served the US Army a good part of my adult life, including two tours in Nam. I’ve never been one to call attention to myself. But, on Wednesday, I felt a need to wear a black baseball cap with the ‘Vietnam Veteran’ logo. I’ve had my bouts with Post Traumatic whatever-they-call-it and learned to somewhat cope with it.
Wednesday, my son and I stood shoulder-to-shoulder. Somewhat like me, he served with the Marines, and we both carry Purple Hearts. He served in Somalia. He does not show any outward display of his tour of duty. We both are appalled at the direction this country is headed, and will stand with anyone who wants to reverse this trend; by whatever means that are necessary.
We had with us his 8 yo daughter, Sierra. I was pleased that she understood that we were protesting the “bad” things going on in this country. She needs a bit more information to fully what is “bad” for the country, but, she is getting there.
But, I want to say, that for me, it became personal. Never, since 1971, have so many people come up to me to thank me for my service. I was brought to tears more than once by the kind words some had to say. A bit closer to closure. I am truly proud to be a member of these groups, both the SB and the Indy Tea Party.
And for all you vets, and I know for I saw many, I hope you had just such a good experience. And, for all you who know a Vet(s), give him/her a salute, or hand shake. We did/do not serve any political agenda, only you and this great Nation.
Don of Indy
“….I have always lived violently, drunk hugely, eaten too much or not at
all, slept around the clock or missed two nights of sleeping, worked too hard
and too long in glory, or slobbed for a time in utter laziness. I’ve lifted,
pulled, chopped, climbed, made love with joy and taken my hangovers as a
consequence, not as a punishment.”
John Steinbeck’s ‘Travels With Charley’

Don of INDY

