July 27th, 2009

  Senator Bayh,

  I urge you to oppose H.R. 3200 “America’s Affordable Health Choices Act” and any similar bill.  As a Hoosier physician I know that we have a crisis in health care.  The cause of our current crisis, however, is massive government regulation of the health insurance, medical, and pharmaceutical industries.

 Having read a few hundred of the 1,018 pages of H.R. 3200, I’m convinced it would destroy the remnants of freedom in our medical and health insurance system.  I oppose it on moral grounds because it restricts our freedoms and violates the rights of taxpayers, doctors, patients, insurers, drug companies and medical device manufacturers.  I agree with many Hoosiers that it will be an ineffective, excessively costly, bureaucratic mess.  These however, are trivial side issues compared to the moral issue:  we each have a moral right to our life, liberty, property, and pursuit of happiness.  This bill violates our rights and represents the moral premise of communism–that we are our brother’s keeper.

 After writing you about TARP, the bailouts and the stimulus package, I received form letters, which indicated clearly to me that my concerns were not heard.  I want you to understand that I intend to speak far and wide about this issue and that Hoosiers are paying attention.

 Sincerely,

Michael Garrett, M.D.

Fishers, Indiana

